Renaissance Festival, PA 2012

Standard

I was fortunate enough to be invited to spend a day at the Pennsylvania Renaissance Festival with my friends this weekend. I’ve never actually gone to one. I’ve heard the tales of turkey legs and wenches bodices, but never actually feasted my eyes upon such wonders in person. So I had to go.

I’ve been to SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) events in my early 20’s, but I don’t currently have any costume “garb”. So I went in civilian gear, with a few flourishes.

I carpooled with the boys, so I headed over early. I was greeted with pancakes and bacon because the people in my life are wonderful. We headed out to pick up the last member of our party and embarked on our way to New Stanton, PA.

The festival isn’t as big as some you may have been to, but we had a good time. We shopped. I snapped photos. We watched a few of the shows. We ate the kind of decadent food one does at a fair.

Things I ate, or will soon eat, that I probably shouldn’t:

  • Fried Mac N’ Cheese on a stick
  • ye olde Frozen Mocha
  • alligator jerky
  • turkey leg
  • caramel apple with little M&Ms

Performances I Watched:

  • The guy with the 4 ton bell set
  • The acrobat dude that juggled knives and had a flaming hula hoop around his neck
  • The glass blower guy
  • The “washer women”, essentially a comedy act where 2 actresses gleefully embarrass men in the audience, all in good natured fun.
  • The Naughty Show, where two women sing some innuendo laden ditties.

Shopping: I’ve had my share of buying stupid shit in my lifetime. I was sure that this festival was to some extent not going to be any exception. I was going to do some reckless spending. The key was going to be to think of specific items I wanted and not go hog wild. I wanted a new anklet, because my has gotten lost to the ages. I avoided the oils, perfumes, soaps, and clothing stalls like a champ. I was there with men, so there was a lot of browsing through the armories and the like, and I found myself strangely drawn to a knife. The justification was swift and powerful, “This would be a great anthame for the altar that I don’t have a space to make in my house.” I let myself walk away and think about it, and resisted the “I want it urge” at least 3 times before I caved in.

Here are the pictures I took, in as close to chronological order as I can muster.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

(This one is Catriona’s photo, but it’s awesome.)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

