Love Of A Cat

Standard

I started this painting last Spring. I began with by creating a pattern with overlapping circles.

Image

 

I chose a cool color palette, with yellow for contrast. 

Image

 

It was a long time between that stage and the next step. I moved across the city. Life kinda got in the way. I wanted to use a stencil, but after some thought, I also wanted to put a quote on it. 

The other day I was thinking about how I have a bunch of masking tape. And I thought that I could use that to create the stencil. I found a quote about a subject near and dear. 

Image

 

“What better gift than the love of a cat?” — Charles Dickens

I also thought about not wanting to lose the pattern I had created, so I decided to cut around the letters and sponge black.

Image

 

Image

 

When I took the rest of the masking tape off, I felt like the quote wasn’t easily readable, so I decided to outline the words with a thin white line.

Image

 

Image

 

Because it’s for a friend, and I’m mailing it, I won’t be framing it. I hope she likes it.

Leave a Reply

