Recent Manis

Standard

My first inspiration was a Pinterest post with this image:

Image

I used a beige/nude color as the base, then used masking tape to block off most of it at a diagonal. On the left hand I did the upper portion coral and on the right hand I did the lower portion, as a mirror image.

Image

Image

When I finished, it reminded me of the cover of the Ziggy Stardust album:

Image

I think the only think that could have made it more of an homage would have been a rhinestone on the index finger, but those never last. I just don’t live the life of luxury required to get those to stick around for more than 2 days, tops.

My next inspiration was a nail polish I got in this months Birchbox. It’s “cactus”, but both my roomie and I feel it’s more of a jade color. That, in addition to the Stylenomics Essie color (a greenish black), made me want to try a “plaid” look.

Image

Image

(As was expected, when you Google search “Highlander Plaid” images like this will appear..)

Image

Warning: the actual mani didn’t turn out totally gorge. It’s best viewed from a distance…

Image

Image

Image

It’s the cactus color with crossing stripes of the Stylenomics. Then I used a silver nail pen for the small stripes.

I thought that the green plaid was called “Highlander Plaid” but apparently all the plaids are tartans in Scottish culture. And though it Wikipedia I learned that there are patterns for different areas, but the symbolism of the colors is a modern concept. Huh. You learn something new every day…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tartan#Colour:_shades_and_meaning

And lastly, I’ll throw another plug in there for my fundraising. (Don’t worry, there is only one more Monday before it all goes down). 9 days left until Renfield’s surgery. So, if you’d like to contribute, there’s still time. Not to ever be forgotten, a ginormous thank you to those who have contributed thus far. I can’t wait to get down on making those art pieces for rewards. Fodder for posts to come….

http://www.gofundme.com/21seh8

(p.s. Sorry my adorable little “widget” for the page didn’t work in the html… But trust me, if you go to the link and look at his super sweet grey face, your heart will melt…)

Leave a Reply

