Renfield Update and Rewards

Standard

Since the internet ate my last update on Renfield, I decided to recreate it with an update on the rewards I’m creating.

It was a horrifically rainy Tuesday evening. The kind of rain where you can’t even see the road. Surprisingly, Ren didn’t make a peep all the way out.

Image

 

He was only supposed to stay overnight, but the vet was uncertain about the anesthesia with his levels, even after overnight fluids. They wanted to give him a full 24 hours of it. The surgeon was booked on Thursday, so we had to wait to pick him up until after the procedure on Friday. 

The house was missing a piece without my boy. I am irrevocably attached to that grey bundle of fur. While most people say other animals in the house look around for the other missing pet, Pork seemed immediately even more vocal and attention seeking.

Image

 

When Ren came back they had to switch his paw for fluid during his stay, so he had little shavy fur boots.

Image

 

Any other time I have brought cats home from surgery, they’re usually a bit loopy but quickly tucker out. I spent the evening chasing him around like he had found his inner kitten. He begged and begged for food, so against doctor’s orders, I allowed him to have a small bit that he quickly threw up. 

He was prescribed antibiotics as a precaution. He’s always so much better with liquids than pills. I’m not sure if they filed his teeth down to razor points, but after a few days I began to look like I had given a hand job to a box grater, and I began to react like a vampire to garlic to the thought of immersing my hands in acidic fluids. After an evening in which Renfield managed to puke in every room in the house, I gave up on giving him the rest of the antibiotics. I assure you, he is fine.

I’m working on the rewards for the fundraising efforts, starting with the postcards. These probably need a few finishing touches, but it’s a good tease.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Only 6 more to go before I can send these out. I’ll send out notifications emails to give you a heads up when they are on their way. I’m looking forward to seeing what comes out of the next batch!

Leave a Reply

