Little Ways to Remember

Standard

This week I made a pillow for my friend Sharon. This pillow was made from her fiance’s shirt as a way to remember Dan.

We used a Santigold tshirt. Santigold was on of his favorite artists. I remember he was very excited to see her when she came to town. You may have heard the song Disparate Youth:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIMMZQJ1H6E

If you’d like more information about this artist, here’s a link to the Wiki page:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santigold

Here’s the original shirt.

Image

 

That’s the front, and this is the back.

Image

 

I cut off the sleeves, up the sides, and then straight across under the collar. 

Image

 

I don’t know how many of you out there had a home economics class. And out of those that had such a class, I’m sure most of you made a pillow. You pin it together, inside out. Sew around 3 of the 4 edges. Once you’ve sewn 3 of the edges, make sure you’ve removed al the pins. I then flipped it the right way out and ironed it. Then I stuffed it with washable poly fill from Micheal’s craft store. After you stuff it you sew the 4th edge. 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

I was really glad I could do something for his memory for Sharon. It only took me about 4 hours, and that was mostly because I sewed by hand. I really think Dan would approve. 

Leave a Reply

