Attic treasures

Standard

On Sunday, I went to my mother’s house. I dug around in the attic, and rooted out some of my old notebooks. I’d like to share some of the things I found as a precursor to the potential video blog I’d like to make.

First we have the back cover of a notebook, covered with song lyrics, quotes, a vampire smiley face, and the ankh all Goths are required to draw on shit by law.

Image

First lets review my handiwork on these dividers, shall we? We have our post modern statements:

Image

Image

“C’est ne pas une pipe.”

And I’m not even sure what I was trying to say with this one:

Image

On one of these dividers, I found the most peculiar combination that I will probably ever find.

Image

Where else are you going to find the combination of The Brady Bunch, Bob Villa adoration, and Marilyn Manson? Not at your local Piggly Wiggly, I assure you.

Now let’s look at the pages. I think I had a thing for codes and secret languages. Okay, I still think they’re fun. But I’m still the kid that used to go to the library in middle school and make my own word puzzles for a good time.

Image

(I apparently also RULE.)

It wasn’t all serious business. There was this 90’s ode to the Starbuck’s “Siren”.

Image

There was a page full of random doodles including a middle finger and a heart with an arrow.

Image

Often these notebooks are filled with unfinished letters to a good friend who moved out of state when we were in high school. This page full of large print, amusing dates, and overwhelming angst amused me.

Image

I’m apparently counting down the days until I am a high school senior. My friend and I have always had a dark sense of humor, so take the following with a grain or two of salt.

Image

Image

Dear 16yr old me, you still don’t have that cult. Maybe some day… Keep in mind, for context, this is all before Columbine (1999), or the days of shows like Dexter. We wore black, and played in cemeteries. We could have easily fit right in with the “Trench Coat Mafia”, except we would never have shot up our school. Because we went to art school, so we actually enjoyed our experience with minimal bullying.

Image

This note is actually my friend’s handwriting.

I also started going through my old journals. I found this one. My guess is I was playing with markers and pens. I don’t think “Wings of Freedom” had any deeper meaning.

Image

And I found this sketch in red pen.

Image

And lastly, another example of the “dark humor”.

Image

I had just gotten some star wars stamps and glitter crayons, from what I read on the opposite page’s journal entry. Why I chose this subject matter, I can’t officially say, other than I was being goofy.

Lastly, I’d like to leave you with something lighthearted and whimsical.

Image

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

