Tiger

Standard

I know how a caged tiger feels.

I know what it’s like to itch underneath your skin.

I know what it’s like to know you’re better than this, more than this.

That desire to be more than these 4 walls,

to have something mean something, for once.

I want to feel confidence again.

I want to feel the things you feel when you’re alive.

I want to be a flame and not a stutter.

I need to be a fire.

I was fucked from the gate.

The revision, the hesitation, the uncertainty.

The way I open my mouth and all the wrong things fall out.

But, I know what it’s like to twitch until the sun comes up.

To hear your own words echo off into the dark in your head before the sun.

To have the deafening roar of the words I didn’t have the courage to say.

I know the heat of the bald, naked truth.

The things no one wants to say, the undercurrent.

The prickling of my fur, with fear.

The fear that someone could see me and know me

and still love me.

And not like a myth, but the real.

And if anyone can hold on through the storms and unrest,

then I will give everything I’ve got to let them know how loved they are.

 

Leave a Reply

